Kwa heri Tanzania

There is so much I am going to take away from Tanzania I don’t even know where to start. Not only have I learned so much about the people and the culture here, but I have learned so much about myself as a person and a teacher. I have developed such a great relationship with my students.  I didn’t think I would have the opportunity to develop such a close bond in such a short time, and it makes it extremely hard for me to leave. I feel so blessed I was able to have this experience. It will definitely be something I will never forget.

It has been such a great experience being a part of and learning the culture here in Tanzania. I will never forget the willingness and excitement the Tanzanians expressed when sharing their country and language with us. I love how the people here live their life with no worries and no rush. It has really opened my eyes and made me realize that life really isn’t a rush and that I should take my time each day to just enjoy life. I feel like I will also be more friendly and open to different cultures and beliefs. I have realized that people live their lives differently and it doesn’t mean that it is better or worse than the way I live my life; it is only different.

Teaching here in Tanzania has definitely changed me as a person. I have always had such a strong passion for children, but after being here my passion has expanded in many ways. I have come to realize that I want to do more than teach in a suburban area in Missouri. Since this trip I have developed an enthusiasm in helping children that really need it. Being here has given me so many ideas to teach out of the country, work in inner cities schools, and or join organizations that help to poor and needy.

When I finished this semester’s courses I really felt like I was able to begin teaching in my own class. After teaching here in Tanzania I now understand that it would be extremely beneficial to learn more about classroom management, how to engage every single student, and teaching students who are at different levels. Even though I have realized I am not ready to have my own class, it has made me even more excited to begin my student teaching.

Nicki Yamada

~ by nickistravels on May 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
