Monduli

The beginning of the weekend was great. We headed out of the Outpost around 8 am on Saturday morning, stopped for coffee and then drove about an hour to the camp. Once we arrived we met Jackson and Simon, our guides for the weekend. They took us on a 2 hour hike through the hills where we saw many  Maasai families and their way of life. I loved this hike because we got to see many children, and spend some time with them. We also got to see inside of some of the Maasai huts, which was really cool. Once we got back from the hike, we had about an hour bread before we headed down to the Maasai market. This was not like the markets we had been going to in Arusha. This was a real Maasai market, full of the people speaking the Maasai language. It was really cool to watch them interact with each other. We even saw a Maasai barbeque, which was a bunch of meat hanging from some roap and covered in flies. It was really gross, but still really cool to see. I bought some awesome shoes, which were made from tires. They are hard to explain, but if you see them you will understand. After the market, we headed back to the camp for the night for dinner and chill time. It was a great day.

The next morning we woke up at 6:30 for breakfast, and then headed out to hike Mt Monduli. It took 3-4 hours and it was tough at some points, but so worth it in the end. Simon was talking all about the culture, and teaching me many things. It was very cool to learn from a real Maasai man. I hope I can come back and visit him again to learn more.

After the hike, we went back for lunch before leaving. The lunch was delicious. I never thought I would try goat, but since they didn’t tell us it was goat until after I ate it I proved myself wrong. It was delicious. I want to eat it again before I leave.

Overall, the weekend was wonderful. It was a very relaxing weekend in nature, and I would love to do it again. Many of the girls were complaining about all of the hiking, but I thought it was a wonderful way to experience what the Maasai people do every day and just experience nature itself. I loved it!

 

-Kendra B

~ by batyk on May 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
