Hamna shida

One of my favorite things about Tanzania is the people.  They are so welcoming.  I’ll never forget the first day of school when all of the teachers welcomed us into their school right away, even though they didn’t have a clue of who we are.  Now, they consider us a part of their family.  It’s just so amazing having people who care so much.  Even on the weekend excursions, we were welcomed into the people’s homes with hugs and smiles.  Even on the street, you say hi to everyone.  It’s so much different than back at home, where it’s considered weird to say hi and have a conversation with all the random people you see.  I love how welcoming everyone is, but most of all, I love how happy the people are.  I don’t think I’ve ever been as happy as I have been in the past month.  At the end of the day, every day, I think about what a great day I’ve had and how much I look forward to the next one.  It’s like their happiness is contagious.

 

Something I’m especially going to take away fromTanzaniais “hamna shida”.  Even when things aren’t going as well as you’d like, it’s not the end of the world.  Something bad happens – “hamna shida”.  That’s what we always say, especially at school.  No one stresses over the little things that don’t really matter.  I think it will be good to remember when I go home, back to a whole different life style… No more pole pole.  Everything is go go go.  I’d like to slow it down a little bit, and try to be as positive as I can.

The way they use resources here is awesome too.  When we went to Shanga, they could do so much using a ton of recycled wine bottles, and made machines out of broken machine parts.  It was just so cool.

This kind of goes back to how much I love the people, but I will never forget Sekei.  That school is so amazing.  I can’t believe how quickly we came to love it, and become so close to the teachers and students.  It is going to be so hard to say goodbye to all of them.  I’m going to miss the school so much.  The teachers, the students, and the overall atmosphere.  Most of the kids are just so motivated to learn, and they enjoy learning.  You don’t hear the students complaining about how “stupid” subjects are or how they don’t want to be at school.  Students WANT to be at school, and that itself is just a beautiful thing.

Sarah T.

~ by sthomas08 on May 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
