Jambo Africa. :)

As the plane was landing in Tanzania I was full of excitement, yet I couldn’t see anything out the window. There are not many well-lit places due to the lack of “cities” and the ability to obtain electricity for lighting. I was told this before coming, but it all becomes real once you are physically in the country. The drive to the outpost was a scary for me because we were all piled into a large bus with all the luggage piled on top. It was super dark out and it always looked as if they oncoming car was going to hit us head on. I couldn’t help, but flinch each time. I had to stop watching the road and just focus on the scenery (as much as I could see in the dark). Our first day in the market was a great time because of all the people we were able to talk to and learn more about the culture and their life styles. Yes, there were a lot of people around and many men were following us trying to sell us their items. Despite their willingness to get us to buy, the men were so happy to talk with us and teach us Swahili. I learned more about their culture and customs through the conversations and this really got me excited for the month to come. I look forward to another experience in the market to learn more Swahili and hear stories.

My first impression of the school today was another good feeling. Assumption didn’t have school today, but the kids were there to play netball and futbol for their competitions. We met some of the kids and were able to ask them questions, but they also were very interested to ask us questions. It was the best feeling to see their smiling faces and excitement to have us to be there. Issac, one of the teachers, was so kind to give us a tour and explain the background of the school to us. He brought us to the parish in which the school is funded by and we were able to meet the priest and drink tea with him. This was not planned, but we all went with it and thought it was a great day to have learned so much about the school before teaching and meeting some of the people who are in charge of helping run the school.

The last thing that has been shocking to me is the food. I wasn’t too sure what I would be in for, but I have been loving majority of the food. 🙂 Of course, we are at the outpost and are able to eat some American food, but we have been able to eat some foods from Tanzania. The foods are very fresh, made from scratch, and taste good. I have been enjoying trying the food we are being prepared because you never know what you may like.

Each day has brought a new experience and adventure. I look forward to many more to come. 🙂

-CC

~ by copusco on May 2, 2012.

3 Responses to “Jambo Africa. :)”

  1. Love the post! I went on this trip last year and loved it! Things are just going to get better!

    Don’t worry, by the end of the trip people will stop trying to sell you things. Going in to town won’t even be a thing. Sounds like you’re having a good time!

    You think the food is good now? Wait until your weekend excursions! The food in the villages is phenomenal!

    Hope you have a wonderful time 🙂

  2. Love your post! I went on the trip last year and believe me it just gets better from here!

    I remember going in to town for the first time. It was terrifying! But by the end of the trip the people don’t even give you a second look. They’ve learned you don’t want to buy anything!

    The food is good now, but it is phenomenal on the weekend visits! Don’t be afraid to try weird looking things — they’re usually the best!

    Sounds like you’re having a good time so far, I hope that continues for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
