In two days we will be in Africa… it’s surreal!

When I say time has flown by, I mean it. It seems like a week ago I got the call to notify me about my acceptance into the program. Now we are two days out and with finishing school early, work, and nightmares about packing my nerves were at an all time high. As of today, however, I am finished with school and work and I am so excited to begin packing for this adventure we are about to embark on.
I am looking forward to so many things about this trip. Firstly, I am so excited to get out of the country to see Africa with my own two eyes. I want to take it all in and immerse myself in their culture. I am excited to try new foods, see new sites, and learn about their customs. Secondly, I am looking forward to meeting the students at the school and working with them. I hope to provide innovative and effective teaching to the students by working with the materials and resources that are available. Lastly, I can’t wait to go on the safari. I have looked up where we are going a dozen times and I am so excited to actually get to experience it. I just hope the moment doesn’t go by too fast!
From this trip I hope to learn many things. My main goal is to learn how to be a better teacher in every sense of the word. I not only want to improve the methods I use while I teach, but I also want to improve how I run a classroom, how I plan, and how I improvise when things don’t go as planned. I hope to learn many things from my students as well. I want to learn more Kiswahili and learn all about each of my student’s lives and how the world looks through their eyes. Overall I think this is going to be a life changing experience and I am eager to see what is in store!
Ashley A.

~ by ashleyarcher on April 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
