Almost ready

I think I am most looking forward to going to the classroom and meeting all the students and the teachers.  It will be interesting to see how the classroom environment in Tanzania differs from what we are used to here in Michigan.  Going on safari is also at the top of my list.  I can’t wait to see all of the animals in their “natural environment”.  I think it still hasn’t completely hit that we are going to Africa in just 2 days.  I’m not sure I’m necessarily looking forward to the long plane ride, but I am really excited to arrive in Tanzania.  I can remember learning the names of the continents and where they were on the map back in elementary school.  Never in a million years did I consider it would be possible to actually go to Africa.

I hope to learn a lot more Swahili.  I think it will be really fun if I can attempt to talk to my students in a little bit of Swahili, and hopefully use it to get some good deals in town 🙂  I’m also hoping to learn a lot about adjusting when teaching in the classroom.  I’m sure this will happen a lot if something isn’t going as planned, or the class isn’t getting the lesson, or even if they move quicker through than I expected.  It’s going to be a big adjustment not having textbooks or printed worksheets/notes.

– Sarah T.

~ by sthomas08 on April 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
