5 Days!!!!!!!!

Now that the homework is almost done…it’s time to really think about the exciting adventure about to start. So here are my thoughts on the following two questions: What am I looking forward to? and What do I hope to learn?

Big Picture Thoughts: Going into a new country with different customs, food, lifestyles and cultures is overwhelming. Well folks, I love that overwhelming feeling. It is what I look forward to the most. That sense of overstimulation is an indication of how much there is to learn. That leads me into my next question: What do I hope to learn? Everything. While enveloped in a new culture, almost every aspect of your day is an opportunity to learn. I hope to embrace these situations and become knowledgable of the lifestyle and culture of Tanzania.

Smaller Scale Thoughts: Specifically, I’m looking forward to many things: the food, the beautiful landscape, warm weather, new friends and my students. This will be my first classroom and I cannot wait to meet my students and jump into our lessons. Even more than teaching the students, I’m looking forward to them teaching me. I have so much to learn about their lives, families and dreams. They will help me learn who I am as a teacher (hopefully good things, but we’ll see). Not many college students have the opportunity to further their education by teaching abroad. I plan to make the most of this experience and develop as an individual and teacher.

~ by kellyheins on April 25, 2012.

4 Responses to “5 Days!!!!!!!!”

  1. Amazing first entry! I am so excited to follow your adventures and first teaching experiences. You are going to be an amazing teacher and your students are blessed to have you! Be safe and know that I love you! Mom

  2. Kelly,
    Great blogpost entry. I look forward to following you in your adventures in learning:)
    Rhonda

  3. Kelly, can’t wait to hear all about your experiences! We are looking forward to it and we are so glad that you have this opportunity. Take care. Neal and Kathy

  4. Kelly, I know you are getting excited about your new adventure. I’m sure it will be a great teaching experience. We’re looking forward to following your blog. Take care of yourself. Paul and Lois

Leave a Reply

 
