Leaving for Tanzania

I am looking forward to so many things on my trip to Tanzania. First and foremost, I am the most excited about having the opportunity to teach children and put my new skills to use. I have gained some experience through my college courses working in American classrooms, so I am really interested in bringing my experience to a new country with a completely different culture. I look forward to comparing my experiences and learning new methods to apply in the classroom. Of course, I am also looking forward to going on an African safari. This is something that I have dreamed about doing at some point in my life, and I never thought it would really happen this early in my life. Overall, I look very forward to immersing myself in a culture that is different from my own and learning and growing from my experiences.

While in Tanzania, I hope to learn new ways of thinking and teaching. I will be working with students that speak a different language than I do as well as live a different way than I do. This will be an important opportunity for me to learn how to modify lessons for diverse students that I will eventually have in my own classroom in the United States. I hope to learn new ways of teaching children by reflecting on my successes and failures in the classroom during this trip. I hope that I will learn new ways of thinking about teaching children and teaching children of different culture and language so that I can take my new knowledge back to the U.S. and implement it in my future classroom.

– Lauren C.

~ by laurencrutchfield on April 24, 2012.

3 Responses to “Leaving for Tanzania”

  1. Lauren,
    We are very proud of you and we’re happy that you are having this wonderful opportunity. We know you will gain have a wonderful experience that will follow you the rest of your life. Have a ball!!! Can’t wait to follow your blogs each day. Love you, M & P

  2. We love your personal blog too but can’t figure out where to comment on it. You are such a great writer! So excited for you and look forward to more about the daily happenings. Love you!
    Mom

  3. Lauren,
    Are you receiving these replies to your personal blog? P&M

Leave a Reply

 
