Tanzania!

     There are so many things that I am looking forward for this study abroad trip! I think that it will be an awesome experience to immerse myself in a completely different culture than my own. I am eager to try new things while in Africa, including a variety of foods. I am also so excited to finally meet the students in my classroom and teach them math and English. In addition, I am so excited for the safari in the Serengeti, our trips to the orphanage, and going to Zanzibar. These excursions still seem surreal to me and I am amazed that they are all coming up so soon! I am in disbelief that this trip is right around the corner and I can not wait to arrive in Tanzania! 

     Throughout this trip, I hope to learn how to speak Swahili, tips for my future classroom, and more about Tanzania. While I have been studying Swahili, there is still a lot for me to learn and I need to work on my pronunciation of different words and phrases. In addition, I want to learn slang words in Swahili so I can better relate to my students. While in Tanzania, I hope to gain more experience teaching in a classroom and learn helpful tips that I can implement during my internship in the fall. I hope to learn how to effectively teach certain subjects and I want to learn how to become more flexible and creative when coming up with lesson plans. Lastly, I want to learn more about the culture and people of Tanzania. I hope to learn more about the Massai tribe and about the daily lives and customs of Tanzanians. 

-Chelsea

~ by Chelsea on April 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
